External Grants

  • National Science Foundation (Award Number: 2027387), Total 74000 (PI) (2020-2021)
    Title: Rumor Diffusion during Unrest
  • Social Science Research Council (Social Media and Democracy Research Grants), Total 48988 (PI) (2020-2021)
    Title: Facebook Information Diffusion and Protest Mobilization: State-level Analyses of the 2018 March for Our Lives Demonstrations
  • Department of Defence-Army Research Office (Award Number: W911NF1910066), Total 328653 (PI) (2019–2022)
    Title: Crisis and Collective Problem-Solving on the Darkweb: Understanding Crisis Information Processing in Hidden Cyber Communities 
  • Department of Education  (Award Number: P016A160053),Total 189697 (Faculty collaborator, 3% contribution) (2016-2018)
    Title: Asia Mediated: Interdisciplinary Curriculum Innovation at Arizona

    State University
  • AEJMC-Emerging Scholars Award, Total 3500 (PI) (2017-2018)
    Title: News Proximity and Social Media Framing of Terrorism: A

    Computational Approach toward Large-Scale Framing Research
  • John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation: Digital Media Learning Competition, Total 154018 (CO-PI, 40% contribution) (2013-2014)
    Title: Evaluating Microcredentialing in Public Networked Environments

Internal Grants

  • Arizona State University-Institute for Social Science Research Seed Grant, Total 6000 (Internal Grant, PI) (2017)
    Title: Crisis and Collective Sensemaking in Darkweb Hacker Communities
  • University at Buffalo-Mark Diamond Dissertation Research Grant, Total 2000 (Internal Grant, PI)  (2009-2010) 


  • Emerging Scholars Award 
    Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
  • Herbert S. Dordick Dissertation Award (3rd) 
    Communication and Techchology Division
    International Communication Association
  • Fellowship (Visiting Scholar-in-Residence)
    Social Media Lab at Ted Rogers School of Management

    Ryerson University, Toronto, Canada
  • Best Faculty Paper honorable mention
    Korean American Communication Division
    International Communication Association
  • Kappa Tao Alpha Research Award
    National Honor Society in Journalism and Mass Communication
  • Jung-Sook Lee Award
    Communication and Techchology Division
    Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
  • Top Four Paper Award
    Peace Communication Division
    National Communication Association